Our Mayfly Love

The mayfly lives for an extraordinarily brief amount of time
Their name literally translates as ‘lasting one day’
They are born – they mate – they die.
So brief that they’re barely here at all.

Our love was a mayfly love
We were so fleeting; two lives never joined,
Only brushing against one another

But in that sweet night with you explained more
Than years in the real world ever could
My teachers never taught me lessons like yours

I still think of you
I still remember your face on the pillow beside me

You are my conscience now
The memory of your words echoing in my head
Perhaps if I listen to your voice, you’ll guide me back to your side
So we can be together again
Even if for just one sweet day; my mayfly

Leave a Reply

