Superficial

Our world is all about the superficial. We’re judged on our beauty. Commercials brainwash us into thinking that if we are beautiful, we will be happy. The world convinces us that all you need is looks and sex and clothes and your life will be complete.
Sometimes, I lose all hope in humanity. I’m just so fed up. I hate the way I never feel comfortable in my own skin, hate the way strangers judge me based on my clothes, hate the way people are hurting themselves, damaging themselves, killing themselves… because they feel like they don’t fit in. It’s not right. The world is drunk on money and shallow, meaningless things that don’t lead to happiness but frenzied obsession.
Relationships, too – those meaningless ones that are full of pleasantries and social etiquette but don’t mean anything. ‘How are you? Did you have a good weekend?’ – asking questions but not caring, not listening, to what the answer is.
I want to know people. I want to know about their relationships with their parents, what they’re passionate about, those little things that they hate. Who their role model is. Who they are irritated by. I just want to crack open someone’s head and read their mind, find out what makes them tick. I want people to feel like they can talk to me about what bothers them. I want people to feel content with themselves and to be able to be themselves around me.
I want to find somebody who will talk about everything, from the mundane to the magical.

Leave a Reply

