Love Quotes

I adore quotes and have complied this collection of love quotes for your enjoyment. Some are very famous – like Romeo and Juliet – and some are much lesser known. Feel free to comment with any that I’ve missed to join my collection!

*

“Clare, I want to tell you, again, I love you. Our love has been the thread through the labyrinth, the net under the high-wire walker, the only real thing in this strange life of mine that I could ever trust. Tonight I feel that my love for you has more density in this world than I do, myself: as though it could linger on after me and surround you, keep you, hold you.”

-The Time Traveller’s Wife, Audrey Niffenegger

*

Astrid: [punches Hiccup] That’s for scaring me!
Hiccup: Oh wha- wait, what is it always going to be this way? ‘Cause…
[Astrid grabs him and kisses him deeply]
Hiccup: …I could get used to it.

-How to Train Your Dragon

*

Juliet: O Romeo, Romeo, wherefore art thou Romeo? Deny thy father and refuse thy name, or if thou wilt not, be but sworn my love, and I’ll no longer be a Capulet.
Romeo: Shall I hear more, or shall I speak at this?
Juliet: ‘Tis but thy name that is my enemy, thou art thyself though not a Montague. What is Montague? It is nor hand, nor foot, nor arm, nor face, nor any other part belonging to a man. Oh, what’s in a name? That which we call a rose by any other word would smell as sweet; so Romeo would, were he not Romeo called, retain that dear perfection to which he owes without that title. Romeo, doff thy name! And for thy name, which is no part of thee, take all myself.

-Romeo and Juliet, William Shakespeare

*

Yvaine: You know when I said I knew little about love? That wasn’t true. I know a lot about love. I’ve seen it, centuries and centuries of it, and it was the only thing that made
watching your world bearable. All those wars. Pain, lies, hate… It made me
want to turn away and never look down again. But when I see the way that
mankind loves… You could search to the furthest reaches of the universe and
never find anything more beautiful. So yes, I know that love is unconditional.
But I also know that it can be unpredictable, unexpected, uncontrollable,
unbearable and strangely easy to mistake for loathing, and… What I’m trying
to say, Tristan is… I think I love you.

-Stardust

*

Rachel Dawes: [letter to Bruce] Dear Bruce. I need to be honest and clear. I’m going to marry Harvey Dent. I love him, and I want to spend the rest of my life with him. When I told you that if Gotham no longer needed Batman we could be together, I meant it. But now I’m sure the day won’t come when you no longer need Batman. I hope it does; and if it does I will be there, but as your friend. I’m sorry to let you down. If you lose your
faith in me, please keep your faith in people. Love, now and always, Rachel.

-The Dark Knight

*

Chihiro: I promise I’ll be back, Haku. You can’t die.

Lin: What’s going on here?

Kamaji: Something you wouldn’t recognize. It’s called love.

-Spirited Away

*

Trinity: Neo, I’m not afraid anymore. The Oracle told me that I would fall in love and that that man… the man that I loved would be The One. So you see, you can’t be dead. You can’t be… because I love you. You hear me? I love you.
[Trinity kisses Neo; Neo’s vital signs return]
Trinity: Now get up!

-The Matrix

*

“No matter how much you hate the world, no matter how much you hate yourself, there
are answers that are better than death. Believe me. There are people that love
you. I love you, for crying out loud. There are people who would be a wreck if
you were gone. There is a reason we are all on this Earth, I promise you, even
if you don’t see it now. If you’re feeling alone, know that the world can be a
lonely place but it would be lonelier without you in it.”

-Hayley Williams

*

“You forget all of it anyway. First, you forget everything you learned- the dates of the Hay-Herran Treaty and Pythagorean Theorem. You especially forget everything you didn’t really learn, but just memorized the night before. You forget the names of all
but one or two of your teachers, and eventually you’ll forget those, too. You
forget your junior class schedule and where you used to sit and your best
friend’s home phone number and the lyrics to that song you must have played a
million times. For me, it was something by Simon & Garfunkel. Who knows
what it will be for you?

And eventually, but slowly, oh so slowly, you forget
your humiliations-even the ones that seemed indelible just fade away. You
forget who was cool and who was not, who was pretty, smart, athletic, and not.
Who went to a good college. Who threw the best parties. Who could get you pot.
You forget all of them. Even the ones you said you loved, and even the ones you
actually did. They’re the last to go. And then once you’ve forgotten enough,
you love someone else.”

-Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac, Gabrielle Zevin

Leave a Reply

